t: 03 5523 1344

Latest News

Work Experience Hands On

  Lochie Berry wants...

First Hand Look at Nursing

   Portland Secondary...

Upcoming Events

 

 Wed 13, Thurs 14 & Fri 15 September

School Production "Bailed Up!"

 

Thursday 14 September

Parent/Teacher Interviews

 

 Friday 22 September

Last day Term 3

2.30 dismissal.

 

Term 4  2017

 

Monday 9 October

First day Term 4

 

Mon 9 til Wed 11 October

Year 12 Practice Exams

 

Tuesday 24 October

Last day for year 12 students

 

Wednesday 1 November

VCE Year 12 Exams commence

 

Tuesday 7 November

Melbourne Cup day holiday

 

Monday 20 November

Yeatr 10/11 SWOT Vac

 

Tuesday  21 until Friday 24 November

Year 10/11 Exams

 

Monday 20 until Friday 24 November

Year 8 Camp

 

Monday 27 November

Year 8 Exams

 

Tuesday 28 November

Year 9 Exams

 

Friday 1 December

Course Confirmation Day - Student Free Day

 

Monday 4 until Tuesday 12 December

Headstart Program

 

Tuesday 12 December

Year 7 Orientation Day

 

Thursday 14 December

Bridgewater Picnic Day

 

Wed 13 until Wed 20 December

End of Year Program

 

Friday 22 December

Last day of Term 4

 

 

 

 

Past Student, new fisheries officer for Portland

Fisheries Victoria has a new officer in Portland.Portland resident John Melis-Walsh, is one of nine newly-trained officers to be appointed across the state.He has lived in Portland all his life, aside from a year in South Australia when he was aged six and his time at Deakin University’s Warrnambool campus where he graduated with a Bachelor of Marine Biology.Mr Melis-Walsh said his interest in fisheries and the environment began as a result of his parents’ involvement in numerous conservation groups, getting him out in the field on weekends as early as he can remember."Portland is a beautiful coastline and I’m excited to be based here and looking forward to a long career with fisheries," he said.Fisheries education and enforcement director Ian Parks said the new officers have had 10 week’s training that covered everything from small boat handling to testifying in court."The training has been a comprehensive program to get the officers ready for their role as education and enforcement authorised officers for Fisheries Victoria."The nine new officers join an experienced state-wide team who are the vital front line in our efforts to ensure the sustainability of Victoria’s fish stocks."Mr Parks said the recruitment program began in August last year when 315 applications were received and the shortlisted applicants went through a competitive recruitment process involving psychometric testing, first round telephone interviews, face to face interviews and a scenario based assessment centre.

Past Student

 

Photo courtesy of the Portland Observer.

 

To download a pdf of this article click here.