t: 03 5523 1344

Latest News

Work Experience Hands On

  Lochie Berry wants...

First Hand Look at Nursing

   Portland Secondary...

Upcoming Events

 

 Wed 13, Thurs 14 & Fri 15 September

School Production "Bailed Up!"

 

Thursday 14 September

Parent/Teacher Interviews

 

 Friday 22 September

Last day Term 3

2.30 dismissal.

 

Term 4  2017

 

Monday 9 October

First day Term 4

 

Mon 9 til Wed 11 October

Year 12 Practice Exams

 

Tuesday 24 October

Last day for year 12 students

 

Wednesday 1 November

VCE Year 12 Exams commence

 

Tuesday 7 November

Melbourne Cup day holiday

 

Monday 20 November

Yeatr 10/11 SWOT Vac

 

Tuesday  21 until Friday 24 November

Year 10/11 Exams

 

Monday 20 until Friday 24 November

Year 8 Camp

 

Monday 27 November

Year 8 Exams

 

Tuesday 28 November

Year 9 Exams

 

Friday 1 December

Course Confirmation Day - Student Free Day

 

Monday 4 until Tuesday 12 December

Headstart Program

 

Tuesday 12 December

Year 7 Orientation Day

 

Thursday 14 December

Bridgewater Picnic Day

 

Wed 13 until Wed 20 December

End of Year Program

 

Friday 22 December

Last day of Term 4

 

 

 

 

Portland Re-engagement Program

The Portland Re-engagement Program was established as a community response to concerns about the number of young people in our municipality who have become disengaged or are at risk of disengaging from education. Some of our Program’s present students have had interrupted schooling; others have not been in educational programs for some time.

 

One way or another all have faced challenges to their learning. As education plays a critical role in ensuring good outcomes in adult life the Program has been developed to give them the chance to complete their education and thereby improve their opportunities in life. 

 

Click here to read two sucess stories from the PSC Re-engagement students.

 

We believe that the Program’s strength lies in its wrap-around, holistic approach to helping these young people. A focus of our work will be determining how best to cater for these students in mainstream educational settings, or indeed, whether alternative re-engagement programs should be available to all schools and resourced appropriately to enable them to achieve the goals set out in The Melbourne Declaration on educational Goals for Young Australians:

 

  • That Australian schooling promotes equity and excellence.
  • That all young Australians become successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens.

 

Our parents, carers and families are critical to the school-community partnership that guides and supports our Program. Their commitment and belief that together we can make a difference for these young people will be the key to enduring and successful outcomes for each of our students.

 

In August 2012, the Steering Committee presented a program update to Community Partners, Parents and Carers to celebrate the Program sucesses.  Download the Program Update here.

 

Download our PSC Re-engagement and Pathways Booklet