t: 03 5523 1344

Latest News


Chalk Art Day

    Portland Secondary...

Upcoming Events

Mid May

Assessment and Reporting cycle ends.

 

Tuesday 16 May

Open Day for Grade 6 students

Home study day for 7/8/ students

 

Wednesday 17 May

Student Free Day (Staff Development Day)

 

Saturday 20 May

PSC Deb Ball

Civic Hall

 

Friday 26 May

Top Arts Tour (please note date change for this excursion from Friday 5 May)

 

Monday 29 May until Friday 2 June

Year 9 Camp

 

Monday 5 June

Year 8 Exams

 

Tuesday 6 June

Year 9 Exams

 

Monday 12 June

Queen's Birthday Holiday

 

Wednesday 14 June

GAT Exam

Civic Hall

 

 Friday 30 June

Last day of Term 2

 

 

 

 

Artist Challenges Public Perception

With dyslexia remaining an often confusing and complex subject, one young Portland artist has taken on the challenge of spreading awareness and comprehension with a new exhibition that opened on Saturday.Portland Secondary College student Morgan Ross, 18, recently completed ‘Dyslexia’, a six-piece exhibition tackling the reading disorder, with the event launching on Saturday at the Percy Imagination and Learning Centre and remaining on display indefinitely over the coming weeks.

Dyslexia is characterised most commonly by difficulty reading and interpreting text, with its appearance often coinciding with both genetic and environmental factors. After being diagnosed with dyslexia in grade two, Morgan said the discovery had a persistently profound impact on her life.“I first got the idea for the exhibition as a part of a school project,” Morgan said.“We had to work on something that was about raising awareness for something within the community, and I thought dyslexia was a great choice because it’s something a lot of people don’t understand and it’s something very close and personal to me. Read Morgan's full story by clicking on the link below.

Artist Challenges Public Perception

 

To download a pdf of this article click here.

 

Photo courtesy of the Portland Observer.