t: 03 5523 1344

Latest News

Students enjoy Congress at Uni

Three Portland Secondary...

Work Experience Hands On

  Lochie Berry wants...

Upcoming Events

  Mon 9 til Wed 11 October

Year 12 Practice Exams

 

Tuesday 24 October

Last day for year 12 students

 

Wednesday 1 November

VCE Year 12 Exams commence

 

Tuesday 7 November

Melbourne Cup day holiday

 

Monday 20 November

Yeatr 10/11 SWOT Vac

 

Tuesday  21 until Friday 24 November

Year 10/11 Exams

 

Monday 20 until Friday 24 November

Year 8 Camp

 

Monday 27 November

Year 8 Exams

 

Tuesday 28 November

Year 9 Exams

 

Friday 1 December

Course Confirmation Day - Student Free Day

 

Monday 4 until Tuesday 12 December

Headstart Program

 

Tuesday 12 December

Year 7 Orientation Day

 

Thursday 14 December

Bridgewater Picnic Day

 

Wed 13 until Wed 20 December

End of Year Program

 

Friday 22 December

Last day of Term 4

 

 

 

 

Campaign targets underage drinking

A covert operation to tackle underage drinking can now be revealed.

Posters featuring three brightly-coloured characters, Quirky, Daring and Funny, have been appearing across Glenelg Shire over recent weeks, popping up overnight in busy Portland streets.The campaign’s message was revealed at a series of youth events and forums last month, starting with the Blue Light Disco on June 17, and at school forums in Heywood and Portland on June 20 and 21.The campaign’s concept is simple: "You’re Enough" to have fun, and to be fun to be around, without alcohol.Speaking on behalf of the Glenelg and Southern Grampians Beyond the Bell group,

Portland Police youth resource officer Leading Senior Constable Lee-Anne Nelson said they wanted to send a positive message to people under 18 to believe in themselves and encourage them to resist peer pressure to drink alcohol."We are encouraging young people to defer their first drink, as we now know the significant harm from alcohol on the developing brain and the increased risk of mental health issues and future alcohol problems when young people start drinking at an early age," Ldg Snr Cnst Nelson said."We also know that when school-aged young people regularly drink alcohol, they are less likely to do well at school or to finish at all. We want all of Glenelg’s young people to reach their full potential."

Campaign targets underage drinking

 

Photo courtesy of the Portland Observer.

 

Click here to download a pdf of this article.