t: 03 5523 1344

Latest News

Upcoming Events

Tuesday 25 April

ANZAC DAY HOLIDAY

 

Friday 28 April

Cross Country

 

Mid May

Assessment and Reporting cycle ends.

 

Tuesday 16 May

Open Day for Grade 6 students

Home study day for 7/8/ students

 

Wednesday 17 May

Student Free Day (Staff Development Day)

 

Friday 26 May

Top Arts Tour (please note date change for this excursion from Friday 5 May)

 

Monday 29 May until Friday 2 June

Year 9 Camp

 

Monday 5 June

Year 8 Exams

 

Tuesday 6 June

Year 9 Exams

 

Monday 12 June

Queen's Birthday Holiday

 

Wednesday 14 June

GAT Exam

 

 Friday 30 June

Last day of Term 2

 

 

 

 

Future Leaders start their Journey

On Wednesday night the Future Leaders of Industry (FLOI) was launched for 2016 with 13 new students attending the opening night dinner to kick off the program. Now in its 11th year, the program is run by Glenelg and Southern Grampians Local Learning and Employment Network (GSGLLEN) in conjunction with Portland Aluminium.The students and their parents got their first taste of the program and what it has to offer, meeting their business mentors and other local business people.The FLOI, which runs over a number of months, allows students to learn about local industries and career paths and work on skills that will help their future employment such as leadership, presentation and public speaking.In addition the participants will receive one-on-one guidance from their local mentor who will share their valuable experience from their career, which is in the students’ field area of interest.

 

The program is supported by various local businesses and organisations, along with numerous local professionals who participate in the student workshops.Portland Aluminium plant manager Peter Chellis was enthusiastic about being involved in the program again and supporting the next generation of professionals."We started this program eleven years ago to help promote local careers and build local talent," Mr Chellis said. "We are committed to using our experience and our facilities for the greatest benefit in our community, and providing further education and training opportunities for our local young people is an important part of that goal."

Future Leaders start their journey 180316

Photo courtesy of the Portland Observer.

To download a pdf of this article click here.