t: 03 5523 1344

Latest News

Work Experience Hands On

  Lochie Berry wants...

First Hand Look at Nursing

   Portland Secondary...

Upcoming Events

 

 Wed 13, Thurs 14 & Fri 15 September

School Production "Bailed Up!"

 

Thursday 14 September

Parent/Teacher Interviews

 

 Friday 22 September

Last day Term 3

2.30 dismissal.

 

Term 4  2017

 

Monday 9 October

First day Term 4

 

Mon 9 til Wed 11 October

Year 12 Practice Exams

 

Tuesday 24 October

Last day for year 12 students

 

Wednesday 1 November

VCE Year 12 Exams commence

 

Tuesday 7 November

Melbourne Cup day holiday

 

Monday 20 November

Yeatr 10/11 SWOT Vac

 

Tuesday  21 until Friday 24 November

Year 10/11 Exams

 

Monday 20 until Friday 24 November

Year 8 Camp

 

Monday 27 November

Year 8 Exams

 

Tuesday 28 November

Year 9 Exams

 

Friday 1 December

Course Confirmation Day - Student Free Day

 

Monday 4 until Tuesday 12 December

Headstart Program

 

Tuesday 12 December

Year 7 Orientation Day

 

Thursday 14 December

Bridgewater Picnic Day

 

Wed 13 until Wed 20 December

End of Year Program

 

Friday 22 December

Last day of Term 4

 

 

 

 

Reading in Focus at PSC

 

Portland Secondary College was taken over by hordes of fairies, comic book characters, and beloved children’s book personalities on Monday, for the 5th annual Book Week dress up day.A mixture of movie, comic and book characters took over the school for the day, participating in a parade as well as trivia, pictionary and quizzes throughout the week.Student Shane Coupe, 15, said his first attempt at a costume took some time to create."I had some time to dedicate to my costume, unlike other years. I think I’ll join in the parade this year."It’s good to show people you enjoy a character enough to dress up as them, which of course comes from reading books."While students donned their make-up, wigs and costumes to get in character, the ideas behind the initiative were not lost on the participants."I love reading," said an excited Lewanna Hayes, 16. "It is fun and improves your creativity."A costume-clad Lewanna hoped the day would encourage all students to pick up a book."Make sure you have fun reading; enjoy it."

 

Reading in focus at PSC

Reading in focus at PSC2

 

To download a pdf of this article click here.

 

Photo courtesy of the Portland Observer.