t: 03 5523 1344

Latest News


Students enjoy Congress at Uni

Three Portland Secondary...

Upcoming Events

Monday 4 until Tuesday 12 December

Headstart Program

 

Tuesday 12 December

Year 7 Orientation Day

 

Wednesday 13 December

PSC Annual Presentation Evening

 

Thursday 14 December

Bridgewater Picnic Day

 

Wed 13 until Wed 20 December

End of Year Program

 

Friday 22 December

Last day of Term 4

 

2018

 

Thursday 25 January

Booklist pick-up from top staffroom at PSC

 

Friday 26 January

Australia Day

 

Monday 29 January

teaching staff return

 

Wednesday 31 January

Year 7, 10, 11 & 12 students return

 

Thursday 1 February

All students at school

 

 

 

 

 

Reading in Focus at PSC

 

Portland Secondary College was taken over by hordes of fairies, comic book characters, and beloved children’s book personalities on Monday, for the 5th annual Book Week dress up day.A mixture of movie, comic and book characters took over the school for the day, participating in a parade as well as trivia, pictionary and quizzes throughout the week.Student Shane Coupe, 15, said his first attempt at a costume took some time to create."I had some time to dedicate to my costume, unlike other years. I think I’ll join in the parade this year."It’s good to show people you enjoy a character enough to dress up as them, which of course comes from reading books."While students donned their make-up, wigs and costumes to get in character, the ideas behind the initiative were not lost on the participants."I love reading," said an excited Lewanna Hayes, 16. "It is fun and improves your creativity."A costume-clad Lewanna hoped the day would encourage all students to pick up a book."Make sure you have fun reading; enjoy it."

 

Reading in focus at PSC

Reading in focus at PSC2

 

To download a pdf of this article click here.

 

Photo courtesy of the Portland Observer.