t: 03 5523 1344

Latest News

Work Experience Hands On

  Lochie Berry wants...

First Hand Look at Nursing

   Portland Secondary...

Upcoming Events

 

 Wed 13, Thurs 14 & Fri 15 September

School Production "Bailed Up!"

 

Thursday 14 September

Parent/Teacher Interviews

 

 Friday 22 September

Last day Term 3

2.30 dismissal.

 

Term 4  2017

 

Monday 9 October

First day Term 4

 

Mon 9 til Wed 11 October

Year 12 Practice Exams

 

Tuesday 24 October

Last day for year 12 students

 

Wednesday 1 November

VCE Year 12 Exams commence

 

Tuesday 7 November

Melbourne Cup day holiday

 

Monday 20 November

Yeatr 10/11 SWOT Vac

 

Tuesday  21 until Friday 24 November

Year 10/11 Exams

 

Monday 20 until Friday 24 November

Year 8 Camp

 

Monday 27 November

Year 8 Exams

 

Tuesday 28 November

Year 9 Exams

 

Friday 1 December

Course Confirmation Day - Student Free Day

 

Monday 4 until Tuesday 12 December

Headstart Program

 

Tuesday 12 December

Year 7 Orientation Day

 

Thursday 14 December

Bridgewater Picnic Day

 

Wed 13 until Wed 20 December

End of Year Program

 

Friday 22 December

Last day of Term 4

 

 

 

 

ResourceSmart Schools

 Monitoring water use to conserve water and reduce costs was the theme of a regional workshop held at the Portland North Primary School.The regional progress workshop for the state-wide ResourceSmart Schools Program was attended by representatives from primary and secondary schools from across the far south-west.Representatives attended from All Saints Parish School, Portland South Primary School, Portland North Primary School and the Portland Secondary College along with a number of schools in the south-west.ResourceSmart Barwon South-West facilitator and assessor Sally Jensen said the program was a free, comprehensive sustainability in schools program that supports schools to audit and reduce their consumption of resources and embed sustainability issues in the curriculum.Ms Jensen said the workshop focussed on auditing water use in schools, increasing efficiency and teaching and learning about local water issues."Guest speaker Andrew Hinchcliff from SWEP (School’s Water Efficiency Program) offered schools use of data loggers to track water use and reduce costs," she said."Wannon Water’s education officer Catherine Grist shared the resources and free programs that the water authority offers schools to increase children’s knowledge of water issues, as well as enhance schools participation in local issues."The event aimed to assist teachers in their efforts towards including local, environmental knowledge and sustainability awareness in the curriculum."The day highlighted that being sustainable, or ResourceSmart, includes increasing student leadership and embedding sustainability in the curriculum."This is best done by allowing students the responsibility of monitoring energy and water use in their school, giving young people leadership opportunities to reduce litter and waste," she said.

Water saving

 

Photo courtesy of the Portland Observer.

To download a pdf of this article click here.