t: 03 5523 1344

Latest News

Upcoming Events

Tuesday 25 April

ANZAC DAY HOLIDAY

 

Friday 28 April

Cross Country

 

Mid May

Assessment and Reporting cycle ends.

 

Tuesday 16 May

Open Day for Grade 6 students

Home study day for 7/8/ students

 

Wednesday 17 May

Student Free Day (Staff Development Day)

 

Friday 26 May

Top Arts Tour (please note date change for this excursion from Friday 5 May)

 

Monday 29 May until Friday 2 June

Year 9 Camp

 

Monday 5 June

Year 8 Exams

 

Tuesday 6 June

Year 9 Exams

 

Monday 12 June

Queen's Birthday Holiday

 

Wednesday 14 June

GAT Exam

 

 Friday 30 June

Last day of Term 2

 

 

 

 

Student Art on Show

 

For the eleventh year running the students from the Portland Secondary College will have their art on show at the Portland Arts Centre as part of the school’s smART Art program.The program displays the art of all visual art students from years seven to 11 in one exhibition with a range of mediums and themes explored. PSC art teacher David Burgoyne said it was a great opportunity for the public to see all of the hard work and talent that the students possess. "The purpose of it is to celebrate the creativity and skill of the kids, we also want to try and show the range of media that kids can use in visual arts.

 

"Different year levels have different focuses which range from two dimensional mediums such as, lino-prints, drawing and photography to three dimensional mediums like ceramics and mask making."The higher you go up through the year levels the more independent the kids are with their work, with the year sevens we set a theme around a media which the kids explore and create their own work," said Mr Burgoyne."Once you get to year nine or ten the kids are starting to have independent directions for their work and then matching the media to suit their ideas."With smART having run for such an extended period now, Mr Burgoyne said that you can see the progress of the students over time, adding another interesting layer to an already impressive exhibition."The main point is to get their (the student’s) stuff out there so that they can be a proud of their work and see the result of the developmental work that they do," he said. "It’s also interesting to track from how they started in year seven and see their progress as they go through to year 11."While the exhibition is currently open for viewing it will have its opening night on Monday August 31 from 5-6pm at Portland Arts Centre. The exhibition will run until September 18 and is open from 9an to 5pm on weekdays and 1pm to 4pm on weekends.

 

 student art on showstudent art on show1

 

To download a pdf of this article click here

 

Photo courtesy of the Portland Observer.