t: 03 5523 1344

Latest News

Students enjoy Congress at Uni

Three Portland Secondary...

Work Experience Hands On

  Lochie Berry wants...

Upcoming Events

  Mon 9 til Wed 11 October

Year 12 Practice Exams

 

Tuesday 24 October

Last day for year 12 students

 

Wednesday 1 November

VCE Year 12 Exams commence

 

Tuesday 7 November

Melbourne Cup day holiday

 

Monday 20 November

Yeatr 10/11 SWOT Vac

 

Tuesday  21 until Friday 24 November

Year 10/11 Exams

 

Monday 20 until Friday 24 November

Year 8 Camp

 

Monday 27 November

Year 8 Exams

 

Tuesday 28 November

Year 9 Exams

 

Friday 1 December

Course Confirmation Day - Student Free Day

 

Monday 4 until Tuesday 12 December

Headstart Program

 

Tuesday 12 December

Year 7 Orientation Day

 

Thursday 14 December

Bridgewater Picnic Day

 

Wed 13 until Wed 20 December

End of Year Program

 

Friday 22 December

Last day of Term 4

 

 

 

 

Students say ariverdici

A brief encounter with a school group while on holidays on the other side of the world has quickly turned into a maiden trip for staff and students of Portland Secondary College.Three staff and 30 students will embark on an 18-day trip across Italy, taking in the sights of the Colosseum, Pantheon and Florence Cathedral from this Friday.The idea came after teacher Andy Harris visited Italy."I previously went to Italy and I saw lots of school groups," Mr Harris said."It’s such a rich place and I wanted to share that with kids in Portland."Mr Harris hopes the trip gives the students a better understanding of ancient cultures."This will only enrich their education. When it comes to a time when they have to write about the region, they will have first-hand experience of that subject."For students Jemma Farrell and Bailey Knight, both 16, the idea of visiting a foreign country is exciting."I’m very keen to visit Venice, Rome and Florence," Jemma said."I like the Roman structures. It’s a great way to immerse myself in where it all started," Bailey added.

students say ariverdici 230316

 

Photo courtesy of the Portland Observer.

 

To download a copy of this article click here.