t: 03 5523 1344

Latest News

Students enjoy Congress at Uni

Three Portland Secondary...

Work Experience Hands On

  Lochie Berry wants...

Upcoming Events

  Mon 9 til Wed 11 October

Year 12 Practice Exams

 

Tuesday 24 October

Last day for year 12 students

 

Wednesday 1 November

VCE Year 12 Exams commence

 

Tuesday 7 November

Melbourne Cup day holiday

 

Monday 20 November

Yeatr 10/11 SWOT Vac

 

Tuesday  21 until Friday 24 November

Year 10/11 Exams

 

Monday 20 until Friday 24 November

Year 8 Camp

 

Monday 27 November

Year 8 Exams

 

Tuesday 28 November

Year 9 Exams

 

Friday 1 December

Course Confirmation Day - Student Free Day

 

Monday 4 until Tuesday 12 December

Headstart Program

 

Tuesday 12 December

Year 7 Orientation Day

 

Thursday 14 December

Bridgewater Picnic Day

 

Wed 13 until Wed 20 December

End of Year Program

 

Friday 22 December

Last day of Term 4

 

 

 

 

Teach for Australia

TFA-1Two Teach For Australia Associates will commence at Portland Secondary College in 2012. 

 

The Teach For Australia program has been successfully implemented in Victorian government secondary schools since the beginning of the school year.

 

Joining Portland Secondary College will be Adam Ross and Liam McNaughton.

 

Adam studied Commerce/Law at Melbourne Uni and has worked as a lawyer since 2006 initially in Commercial Law in Melbourne and London and is currently working for NAAJA Aboriginal Legal Aid in Darwin – helping the remote communities in the Top End.  His outside interests include language, travel and football and cricket. 

 

Liam McNaughton studied a Bachelor of Arts, specialising in History and Politics at Monash University and University of Queensland.  He has worked with the Bushfires Royal Commission and more recently with the Coroners Court.  Liam enjoys hiking, cycling and reading. 

 

“We are excited to have Liam McNaughton and Adam Ross joining our staff.  They will each have an experienced, Leading Teacher as their mentors and the team will be supported by the University of Melbourne,” Principal, Toni Burgoyne said.

 

The Teach For Australia Associates are rigorously screened and are high calibre individuals who have undergone a targeted nationwide selection process.  All Associates have completed their degrees, many have completed double degrees and all are very enthusiastic about contributing to the education of secondary school students.  Candidates undergo a multi-stage selection process that includes assessment against the characteristics and capabilities of an effective teacher.