t: 03 5523 1344

Latest News

Work Experience Hands On

  Lochie Berry wants...

First Hand Look at Nursing

   Portland Secondary...

Upcoming Events

 

 Wed 13, Thurs 14 & Fri 15 September

School Production "Bailed Up!"

 

Thursday 14 September

Parent/Teacher Interviews

 

 Friday 22 September

Last day Term 3

2.30 dismissal.

 

Term 4  2017

 

Monday 9 October

First day Term 4

 

Mon 9 til Wed 11 October

Year 12 Practice Exams

 

Tuesday 24 October

Last day for year 12 students

 

Wednesday 1 November

VCE Year 12 Exams commence

 

Tuesday 7 November

Melbourne Cup day holiday

 

Monday 20 November

Yeatr 10/11 SWOT Vac

 

Tuesday  21 until Friday 24 November

Year 10/11 Exams

 

Monday 20 until Friday 24 November

Year 8 Camp

 

Monday 27 November

Year 8 Exams

 

Tuesday 28 November

Year 9 Exams

 

Friday 1 December

Course Confirmation Day - Student Free Day

 

Monday 4 until Tuesday 12 December

Headstart Program

 

Tuesday 12 December

Year 7 Orientation Day

 

Thursday 14 December

Bridgewater Picnic Day

 

Wed 13 until Wed 20 December

End of Year Program

 

Friday 22 December

Last day of Term 4

 

 

 

 

Student Absences

It’s Not OK to be Away

 

Students with irregular and poor attendance often struggle at school and the value they receive from their education is greatly diminished as a result.

 

Portland Secondary College takes the issue of student absence very seriously but it is not an issue which can be dealt with solely by the school.  It requires the support of both parents and the community if it is to be successfully addressed.

 

Please make sure that your child attends school every day.  Try to make medical appointments etc outside school hours and take holidays over the designated holiday period. 

It is only when we see education as a partnership between the school and parents that we will be able to properly address the issue of student absenteeism.

 

If an absence is unavoidable please contact the General Office on 55231344.  Alternatively a note can be sent the next day for the student to drop off at the general office or by logging it on Compass.